#Lisbon Rua da Misericórdia was named in 1937, to honor the Holy House of Mercy (which is at the top). Between 1910 and 1937, this was called artery Street of the World, in honor of the newspaper with the same name "O Mundo" that was based there from 1889. Further back in time, it was the wide street of São Roque, by association with the Church and convent of São Roque.
Chapel of St. John the Baptist in the Church of Saint Roch (São Roque church), Lisbon, Portugal. Considered to be a masterpiece unique in European art, this chapel was ordered from Rome in 1740 by King John V.
Igreja de São Roque - Lisboa - Portugal A travel board about things to do in Lisbon Portugal, including Lisbon restaurants, food, nightlife, cafes, shopping and much more about the capital of Portugal! -- Have a look at http://www.travelerguides.net